top of page

Sacraments and Shut-ins

Yesterday, I was convicted. Which in a way, it’s nice to know and feel that God is working in me.


This conviction was two-fold. In one way, I was convicted regarding the praxis of pastoral ministry. Also, I was convicted theologically, or at least how my theology hasn’t been shaping an aspect of my pastoral ministry.


I pastor a small church, which has an in-person average of 60-65 people. On this side of Covid-19, we have many shut-ins who have not been able to come to church and sadly, many of whom, will never again gather with our church on a Sunday morning.


Sadly, our shut-ins have been overlooked in this season. It's easy to blame it on Covid. At first, no-one could visit them. It wasn't safe. Then as vaccinations rolled out and the world moved on, the church seemed to keep moving forward. Our shut-ins weren't able to move forward with us. They are, after all, shut in.


Focus on Growth and New People!


This may be some pastors’ motto as it relates to shut-in care. I don’t mean they don’t care, but rather, they don’t see caring for shut-ins as their job. Deacons can do that. Yes, deacons can and should do that. The pastor can’t, nor should, be the only one caring for shut-ins. I don't think the pastor should be the primary person to care for shut-ins. If that's all the pastor does, the church will die...


Back to my conviction...


It is easy for me to focus on things that will help the church grow. The reality is, caring for shut-ins is not a practical solution for church growth. I have never read a book on breaking church growth barriers (and I have read many) which recommended caring for shut-ins.


I feel this tension. I’m pastoring a church which is starting to grow after many, many years of decline. I get to meet new people, focus on discipling new believers, and the endless list of things that ‘will’ help our church grow.


The things that help the church grow and reach people are things we do. To be sure, those are things we, as pastors, should do and focus on.


But pastoral ministry is not all about church growth. This is the place where theology leads us to pastor better.


Feed, Guard, and Care for the Flock.


That’s not nearly as motivational as growth, especially if you are like most pastors who want, think, and dream continuously of ‘bigger’ and ‘better’ churches baptizing thousands into the household of God.


Pastor, dream those dreams. Pray for that to happen in your church.

But don’t forsake the calling and office of being pastor.


Why should you take the time to schedule (and why I am starting to schedule) time in your extremely busy calendar to visit shut-ins?


I believe that part of being a pastor is making sure God’s flock are fed the word and sacraments.


At our church, shut-ins can watch our services online and our administrative assistant mails them my sermon notes every week…. They are offered and fed the word. But what about the sacrament of bread and wine?


In the Lord’s Supper, God’s children are offered a meal that is spiritually nourishing and sustaining. As some Patristics’ wrote about the Lord’s Supper, it is medicine for the soul. It’s a meal that joins us to Jesus and one another.


Paul wrote that in the meal, we participate with Christ. (1 Cor. 10:16).


*I understand there are varying views on the Lord's Supper being a sacrament or ordinance…hopefully, you can acknowledge the meal is an important part of the Christian’s life.


By not taking the Lord’s Supper to the shut-ins of our church, am I not keeping them from a means of grace which Jesus gives his church? I believe that I am.


Now, I will flip the question. By not taking the Lord’s Supper to the shut-ins of your church, are you not keeping them from a means of grace which Jesus gives his church? I believe that you are.


That is the opposite of being a pastor who looks like Jesus. Jesus served those who needed to be served. Jesus loved those who needed to be loved. Jesus gave up his life for many, for those who could not repay him.


Our ministries can’t focus only on what we can get but on what Christ has given. Christ has given you, the pastor, to a local church for their benefit and the benefit of the world.


Stop Focusing on Results and Start Focusing on your Calling


There is a tension between focusing on church members and helping church members focus on the great commission. I don’t think the pastor should focus on what the members want but should focus on what they need: God’s word, the sacraments, a transformed life, and to be equipped for the ministry.


The shut-ins who are part of your church need the same thing. Don’t deprive them of the benefits of belonging to a church and its mission. God is not done with them.


Cheers,

Zac


Recent Posts

See All

Pastoral Vocation; the beginning of an essay

I am a pastor. I’m not more than a pastor, but I’m not less than a pastor. If you are reading this, you are most likely a pastor, or at least an aspiring pastor in seminary, or you’re praying about le

I blame church leadership

There are lots of people who could be blamed for the fiasco at the capital on January 6, 2021. I blame church leadership. To be fair, there were people ransacking the capital that weren't Christians.

bottom of page